Thursday, May 8, 2014

Celiac Disease Awareness Month - May 8, 2014

Each day this month, I will be posting something about Celiac Disease.

Day 8:

Yesterday, I promised to explain oats.

Oats are still a controversial topic, but it is thought that they are cross contaminated in the field or during production due to their close proximity to other gluten-containing grains. It is recommended that those with celiac disease only consume oats that are certified gluten free to ensure they were not grown in or processed in close proximity to other gluten-containing grains. Even then, many individuals with celiac disease cannot tolerate oats, so they should avoid them.

Do you or are you able to consume oats? Are you careful to ensure you only consume certified gluten free oats?

No comments:

Post a Comment